Editing Schematic Symbol

Discuss PCB123. Talk to the influencers. Be an influencer.


Re:Editing Schematic Symbol

    by Sal Hernandez » Mon May 14, 2012 9:30 am

I am sorry but I don't know when this feature will be added to PCB123. I will review the issue with our product management and sofrtware development team.
Regards,

Sal Hernandez
Software Support Engineer I
Sunstone Circuits
13626 S. Freeman Road
Mulino, OR 97042
Phone: 503-829-9108 x226
Fax: 503-829-5482
Sal Hernandez
 
Posts: 381
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 12:00 am

Editing Schematic Symbol

    by mike4viper » Mon May 14, 2012 9:30 am

I have designed a board (schematic and layout) and need to make some changes to it. Mainly the microcontroller symbol. When I first built the symbol I only added the pins that I knew at the time that I would need. That has since change and I now need to edit the symbol and add a few more pins. I have gone into the symbol editor and added the pins and saved/replaced the old symbol which all seemed to work fine. I then went to managing parts to make sure that the newly edited symbol was the one associated with the old part, which it was. The problem is that the actual symbol on the schematic does not get updated. Am I doing something wrong?
mike4viper
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 12:00 am

Re:Editing Schematic Symbol

    by mike4viper » Mon May 14, 2012 9:30 am

Thank you for your quick reply. Do you have a better idea about when you might have this feature available? The problem with deleting the current part and adding a new part is that all the routing that I did to the original part will be lost and I'd have to re-route 50 or so connections. I really don't want to have to do this. I guess as a work around I could manually add the connection on the board layout. This would then create a sync page on the schematic? While this connection wouldn't be easily seen on the schematic, the connection would be there. In the case of building new symbols, namely large pin count microcontrollers, what would you suggest?On one hand, I don't want a cluttered schematic that's hard to read, buton the otherhand I don't want to have this issue come up that is not easy to fix. Any suggestions would be great as I am pretty new at this stuff.
mike4viper
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 12:00 am




Return to “General PCB123 Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron