Re:[Eagle] How do you make Gerber Board Outline?

Includes information regarding protoyping, technical questions, company news, and input about our products.

Moderator: Sunstone Moderators



Re:[Eagle] How do you make Gerber Board Outline?

Postby Sal Hernandez » Mon May 14, 2012 9:30 am

The default set of Eagle CAM job place the board oultine on the Silk screen CMP layer which has the extension plc. The outline is stored on Layer #20 Dimension as shown below.



You can place the outline on any gerber layer. Just deselect layer 20 from the Silk screen CMP layer, choose on of the other layer tabs and select the Dimension layer to add it to the gerber output. Once you have your updated your layer selections press the Process Job button to export your gerbers.

We have our own set of Eagle cam scripts that you can use and we provide a tutorial to walk you through the gerber and drill output process. You can download our Eagle cam files from the Sunstone Downloads page below.

Sunstone Downloads

Go to the bottom of the page to the Additional Tools section.
Regards,

Sal Hernandez
Software Support Engineer I
Sunstone Circuits
13626 S. Freeman Road
Mulino, OR 97042
Phone: 503-829-9108 x226
Fax: 503-829-5482
User avatar
Sal Hernandez
 
Posts: 396
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 12:00 am

[Eagle] How do you make Gerber Board Outline?

Postby OhmNUU » Mon May 14, 2012 9:30 am

Hello!
I have just finished my first project using eagle and i cant wait for it to be manufactured. However i am unsure of how to create the Gerber Board Outline that is needed in order for me to place an order. So Incase someone could explain or give me the steps i would appreciate it. Thank you ! I found this video helpful when creating Drill file, Top Solder mask etc...http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B_SbQeF83XUincase anyone else also finds it helpful.
OhmNUU
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 12:00 am

Re:[Eagle] How do you make Gerber Board Outline?

Postby Terri Miller » Mon May 14, 2012 9:30 am

Hello,

As Sal said, the outline can be placed initially on any layer, just be sure that you select the proper object layer when generating the file using the cam processor. I've attached a document that will help explain how to specify the board outline during the design process.

If you have questions, just let us know and we will do our best to assist you!

Terri
Attachments
EAGLE - Specify the Board Outline.jpg
EAGLE PCB software specifying the board outline.
EAGLE - Specify the Board Outline.jpg (86.51 KiB) Viewed 29171 times
Regards,

Terri Miller
Sunstone Circuits
13626 S. Freeman Road
Mulino, OR 97042
Phone: 800-228-8198
Fax: 503-829-6657
Terri Miller
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 12:00 am

Re: Re:[Eagle] How do you make Gerber Board Outline?

Postby code-promo » Fri May 13, 2016 6:40 am

Thank you Terri Miller... this will help me good...
User avatar
code-promo
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 10, 2016 2:29 pm

Re: Re:[Eagle] How do you make Gerber Board Outline?

Postby Robert Ohanesian » Tue May 17, 2016 8:36 am

Hello code-promo,

I am glad we are able to assist you and help with your PCB123 experience. If you ever have any more questions or comments please don't be afraid to contact us at support@sunstone.com. Please let us know if you need any more assistance or guidance.
Regards,

Robert Ohanesian
Customer Support
Sunstone Circuits
13626 S. Freeman Road
Mulino, OR 97042
Phone: 800-228-8198
Fax: 503-829-6657
Robert Ohanesian
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2014 10:18 am




Return to Products and Services

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest