Ground Planes

Discuss PCB123. Talk to the influencers. Be an influencer.

Moderator: Sunstone Moderators



Ground Planes

Postby binsk » Tue May 21, 2013 3:48 pm

I wanted to make the bottom layer a ground plane. Example in manual page 119 says
select the edit layer to bottom layer but that is just the layers to display, then it says to click on "add board outline" icon... no mention of what icon that is.. haven't found it yet.

On my board I have placed the components but haven't routed any signals yet as I wanted to establish the ground plane first.

Anyone know what the "Add board outline" icon is?

Thanks
binsk
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue May 21, 2013 3:14 pm

Re: Ground Planes

Postby binsk » Wed May 22, 2013 11:44 am

I tried using the filled polygon again.. the first time I entered a filled polygon and then did autoroute wasn't able to route anything.

I tried it again, designated the layer and established a filled polygon as a ground plane then autorouted and it put protected areas around the active pins etc. and routed successfully. Not sure what I did wrong the first time.
binsk
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue May 21, 2013 3:14 pm

Re: Ground Planes

Postby Sal Hernandez » Wed May 22, 2013 2:27 pm

Great. Here is a post on creating filled polygons.

http://forum.sunstone.com/creating-a-filled-copper-pour-t7928.html
Regards,

Sal Hernandez
Software Support Engineer I
Sunstone Circuits
13626 S. Freeman Road
Mulino, OR 97042
Phone: 503-829-9108 x226
Fax: 503-829-5482
User avatar
Sal Hernandez
 
Posts: 396
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 12:00 am




Return to General PCB123 Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BertieV1, Ethan89X and 3 guests