Can a layout Polygon be a Pin?

Here you can find discussions pertaining to finding or creating Symbols and package footprints. Anything to do with Schematic or layout parts will be placed in this discussion.

Moderator: Sunstone Moderators



Can a layout Polygon be a Pin?

Postby DBrunermer » Fri Apr 11, 2014 6:01 am

That's pretty much my question. I need some arbitrary shape for a connection pin. I know how to make the polygon, that's fine. And I can embed a small pin inside the polygon, and get the result I want, but the DRC errors kind of slow down the redraw. Is there any way to use pin or polygon properties to let the editor know that my intention is for the pin and polygon to overlap?
Thanks, Dan B.
DBrunermer
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2012 10:59 am

Re: Can a layout Polygon be a Pin?

Postby Sal Hernandez » Tue Apr 15, 2014 8:59 am

At this point, no, you can't set a property to identify a polygon as a pin. I have already submitted an enhancement request to allow creating custom shaped pads. I will add your feedback to the request.
Regards,

Sal Hernandez
Software Support Engineer I
Sunstone Circuits
13626 S. Freeman Road
Mulino, OR 97042
Phone: 503-829-9108 x226
Fax: 503-829-5482
User avatar
Sal Hernandez
 
Posts: 396
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 12:00 am

Re: Can a layout Polygon be a Pin?

Postby Just Keith » Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:01 pm

So does this mean something like a SOT-89 cannot be drawn correctly?
That footprint has 3 pins and a tab, where the center pin and the tab are connected by an "exposed pad" which is narrower at the pin end and wider at the tab end.
I've drawn something like this, with a top layer polygon overlapping the center pin, but the DRC complains about pad-to-fill spacing.
Knowing this, would it still be acceptable to submit for fab?
Just Keith
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 4:55 pm

Re: Can a layout Polygon be a Pin?

Postby dooori » Sat Apr 04, 2015 2:19 pm

I selected a LED (598-8310 107F) using Add Part. The schematic symbol looked rather strange, so I went to the Symbol Editor and loaded it. I found an "*" shown under the Section along with a repeat of the pin number. Anybody know what this means and how to use it (assuming one would wish to use it)?
dolii
dooori
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2015 1:55 pm

Re: Can a layout Polygon be a Pin?

Postby Robert Ohanesian » Thu Dec 31, 2015 12:26 pm

If you take a look through the manual, you'll find out that the little star "*" next to a part means that it has been edited. You can get rid of that star if you revert back to the original part.
Regards,

Robert Ohanesian
Customer Support
Sunstone Circuits
13626 S. Freeman Road
Mulino, OR 97042
Phone: 800-228-8198
Fax: 503-829-6657
Robert Ohanesian
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2014 10:18 am

Re: Can a layout Polygon be a Pin?

Postby vron12 » Mon Mar 14, 2016 1:10 am

I really enjoy simply reading all of your weblogs. Simply wanted to inform you that you have people like me who appreciate your work. Definitely a great post
vron12
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2016 1:09 am

Re: Can a layout Polygon be a Pin?

Postby Robert Ohanesian » Mon Mar 14, 2016 8:40 am

Thank you! We always appreciate feedback from our customers. If you have any questions or any more comments please feel free to send them to our support email.

support@sunstone.com
Regards,

Robert Ohanesian
Customer Support
Sunstone Circuits
13626 S. Freeman Road
Mulino, OR 97042
Phone: 800-228-8198
Fax: 503-829-6657
Robert Ohanesian
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2014 10:18 am




Return to Schematic and Layout Parts (Libraries)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron